Visa Information

It is the delegate's responsibility to investigate the visa requirements for France and apply for a visa, if necessary. Delegates are recommended to apply for their visa as early as possible, to ensure adequate processing time.

General information about visas for France

All foreign nationals wishing to enter France must be able to submit statutory documents at the border concerning the reasons for their stay, their means of support and accommodation arrangements.

A visa is generally required, in the absence of a waiver.

For general information and for preparing, submitting and tracking your visa application, log on to France-Visas, France’s official visa site.

The European territory of France is part of the Schengen Area (pdf), which encompasses multiple European States to form a common space of free movement for persons.

The Schengen Area includes the 26 following States:

Member States of the European Union: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden;
Non-Member States of the European Union: Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

Short-stay visa
This type of visa is generally issued for tourism, business trips or family visits.

It is also issued to persons entering to France to take part in short training programmes, internships, conferences and corporate meetings, or to engage in remunerated activities (whatever the form), not exceeding 90 days.

“Uniform Schengen” short-stay visa
This is a visa issued by a Schengen Area member country for transit or stay in part of or all Schengen space. It is not to exceed 90 days over any period of 180 consecutive days. The visa inserted in the relevant travel document bears the name of the territories in which the holder is entitled to stay.

The visa may be valid for one or more entries.

A visa is not required to enter the Schengen Area for Foreign nationals by virtue of their nationality:

Citizens of the European Union (EU), European Economic Area (EEE) and Switzerland;
Nationals of countries listed on the common Schengen list (Annex 2 of (EC) Regulation 539/2001);